Guide to Pet Sitting

Gillian Davis
7 min readNov 28, 2023
Photo by Andrew S on Unsplash

“Love for all living creatures is the most noble attribute of man,” ~ Charles Darwin

Embracing this ethos, this article is tailored for both aspiring pet sitters and those seeking their services. I have done a lot of Pet Sitting over the years, and here I share everything I’ve learned!

For Aspiring Pet Sitters

Understanding the Responsibility

Pet sitting, a blend of care and companionship, demands more than a fondness for animals. It’s a commitment to another life, and often someone’s home, requiring diligence, empathy and respect. It also requires the human-to-human touch. Pet owners want to know how their fur babies are doing while they’re away, and it’s your responsibility to put their minds at ease.

The Joy of Travel

Accommodation is the highest part of travel expenses. Even if you do the Airbnb thing, it will still cost you the most money. There is an alternative that few know about. Pet and house sitting is an international opportunity and a great way for pet lovers to make a lot of new friends on their journeys. Many pet and house sitting postings don’t pay you money, and there is a whole insurance consideration there, but you can stay in the nicest places for free and have a furry friend to boot! I call this a win-win situation!

I have had the experience of living in million-dollar homes where it took me days to figure out where all the doors led to and towns that few get to see. Because of this adventure, I have met wonderful, pet-loving families that have become lifelong friends and repeat ‘clients.’ For digital nomads, students looking for summer break adventures, retirees who want to see the world, or just those looking for a different kind of travel experiences — this is the way to go!

Five Tips for Aspiring Pet Sitters

1. Learn Animal Behavior: Understand the nuances of different species and breeds. Be aware that the pets will likely miss their family for the first few days and you have to find ways to help them feel comfortable with you. I have one kitty I look after for several months over the winter. The first few weeks, he’s fine, and then he starts to miss his boy. He starts sleeping on his bed and spending most of his indoor time in the little boy’s bedroom. I’ve found that if I coax him onto the couch for a couple of hours of cuddle time each day, he becomes more active and I assume, happier.

2. Communication is Key: Engage regularly with pet owners, providing updates and asking questions. Ensure that you keep the pet owners updated with regular photos and notes about their beloved pet. It give them peace of mind knowing that their pet is in good hands. I personally love getting their travel pictures in return — it’s a lovely exchange and often inspires further travel destinations for me.

3. Be Prepared: Familiarize yourself with emergency procedures and local veterinary contacts. I’ve never had any issues but it is always a good idea to know who to call if there is ever a problem.

4. Respect the Home: Treat the pet’s environment with care and cleanliness. You are, essentially, a guest in someone else’s home. Be respectful of their privacy and belongings. I have a policy of doing a really god clean before I leave any home, to ensure I have packed all my things and also so that the homeowners are coming back to a house they can relax in.

5. Build a Reputation: Gather testimonials and build a portfolio of your experiences. I also have a criminal records check and emergency numbers the homeowners can call if they can’t get hold of me. These are just extra assurances and again, peace of mind is always a good thing.

Photo by Tadeusz Lakota on Unsplash

For Those Seeking Pet Sitters

Assessing Your Needs

It’s always good to think about exactly what you are looking for before deciding on a pet sitter. Consider what your pet needs: regular exercise, medication, companionship. This understanding shapes your choice of sitter. A senior or digital nomad might be best if you need a quiet, calm sitter who is home most of the time. A young student might be a better fit if you have an active puppy who needs lots of exercise.

Five Tips for Choosing a Pet Sitter

1. Check Credentials: Look for experience, references, and reviews. Although these things aren’t entirely necessary or even available, ensure you have confidence in the person you choose. Look at their social media; if they give references, call them.

2. Communicate Expectations: Clearly outline your pet’s routine and needs. If you pet requires medication or any special care, ensure you leave detailed information. Also, it’s a good idea to leave emergency contact information for someone nearby willing to help and a list of garbage days, keycodes and other information the pet/housesitter might need. I suggest putting together a little booklet or info sheet to keep this all together.

Also, if you have an unusual pet — please let the pet sitter know. I have a great sense of humour and a high tolerance for the unusual, but no everyone does. In one of my postings, the people never mentioned their pet spider until I got there and in another, a pet snake was a surprise. Not everyone can handle these types of pets, regardless of care requirements.

In case you’re wondering, in both cases the spider and snake didn’t need anything other than a change of water. It still creeped me out a bit to go into their habitats, but I made it through! LOL

3. Meet and Greet: Allow your pet to meet the sitter beforehand if possible. And make sure you have a phone call or two before they come to ensure that you get a feel for what the person is like. I don’t know how many panicked pet owners have called me, hoping I could fill in at the last minute because it was a bad match when they met the person who was supposed to sit for them. I haven’t always been able to come to the rescue, and sadly, I’ve heard that some changed their vacation plans because they just weren’t comfortable leaving their pet with the person.

4. Emergency Plans: Discuss and prepare for potential emergencies. I have never had any issues, but you never know. I always say “better safe than sorry”. It is unlikely that anything will happen, but it’s always a good idea to have someone your pet sitter can call if there are any problems and the number for your vet.

5. Stay Connected: Arrange for regular updates during your absence. These can be as frequent as you prefer. I will generally send a photo or other update a couple of times weekly, depending on the length of the trip. I find this schedule doesn’t interfere with the holiday and gives the home/pet owner peace of mind, whichis always appreciated.

PS: If you don’t want updates , letthe pet sitter know that too. I can understand if it will make you miss your fur baby more to see them having a good time with someone else! ;-)

One final bonus tip: it’s always nice to get a grocery list from your potential pet sitter and bring in a few of their favourite foods. Ths let’s them settle in quickly and spend those first couple of days helping your pet get accustomed to the new situation. A few treats is always a good idea as well. In one house I was gifted a box of luxurious bath potions. In another, they returned with a gift bag of all sorts of goodies. These are just nice touches and are greatly appreciated.

Photo by Alvan Nee on Unsplash

Platforms to Consider

Trusted House Sitters and Pet Sitters Canada (they are available in other countries as well) are beacons in this domain, offering gateways to trusted opportunities and vetted sitters. These platforms are not mere listings; they are communities fostering trust and reliability. They are the only two platforms I’ve used, and I stand behind them. Each one is a little different and has different benefits. I encourage you to check out both and see which one suits you best. They are both reliable, and I have generallyused them in conjunction to ensure I have lots of options. (FYI — I’m not on either as of the writing of this article as I am either fully booked or not travelling at the moment.)

Word of mouth is also a great way to both get gigs and to find sitters. I have been recommended to many friends of the people I have sat for in the past and have been very happy with the arrangements.

Final Thoughts

We find a unique blend of responsibility, compassion, and community in pet sitting. For those embarking on this journey, either as a sitter or a client, the path is rewarding, fostering connections with pets and fellow animal enthusiasts. Let’s remember the words of Mahatma Gandhi:

“The greatness of a nation and its moral progress can be judged by the way its animals are treated.”

We uphold a noble tradition of compassion and responsibility in caring for our furry, feathered, or scaled friends.

--

--

Gillian Davis

Freelance writer, Author, Speaker, Blind Advocate and world traveller